My Life at Li Po Chun United World College of Hong Kong 2011-2013

Itsy Bitsy Spider

Some time ago I wrote a blog entry about how I woke up nearly face-to-face with a huge spider that had webbed herself a new home right in front of my window. Now, she is back! Her net is even bigger than before, and the spider herself is by far more active than she was last time. Just last morning I could, by mere chance, witness a big butterfly tangle itself in the spider web. Within an instant, the spider threw itself onto its prey and immediately started wrapping up the butterfly, which stopped moving after only a few bites. Both the butterfly and the spider were so enormous, that I could see every detail of what was going on. 

Especially the way the spider used silk to enfold her victim was highly interesting at this close sight! After only a few minutes the butterfly was barely recognizable under the thick layer of silk, and when I came back from lunch a short while later, it had completely disappeared, remaining but a memory in my head and well filling up the spider. Now that I sit at my desk in front of my window, the spider is still there, waiting. Her web is full of glittering rain drops from yesterday’s heavy rainfall and slightly damaged by the heavy wind, yet the spider has not disappeared. Just in case, my roommate Catherine and I have agreed on keeping the windows on my side of the room shut…

Leave a Reply

