My Life at Li Po Chun United World College of Hong Kong 2011-2013

“They’re coming …”

Now, I haven’t been writing about life in LPC since quite some days. It’s time for some updates on all the things that have happened! The last days have been so exciting and overwhelming, it is hardly describable. Many firstyears have already arrived and new faces keep on popping up on the road and in the blocks. Every time you enter the canteen there are at least five new pairs of eyes staring at you, wondering who and how you might be. The standard sentence of last year – “Hello, I’m Lara from Germany” – has regained its popularity, but now I can always add that I am a Secondyear, which kind of gives you these adorable ‘wow, somebody who is experienced”-looks from the Firstyears. The atmosphere is very different from last year, or at least that is how I perceive it. Many of the firstyears seem to normally be very outspoken and very open to everything and anyone – but as soon as they see that you head straight towards them to introduce yourself, they seem to shrink on the spot. Even Abraham, my Firstyear from Germany, who only arrived a few hours ago, seems much more shy than he did when I met him in Dresden. I guess Hong Kong and LPC are still as overwhelming as they were one year ago … Meanwhile I have already met my buddy – David from the Philippines – and our room is full by now as well! Namgyal from Bhutan has arrived yesterday and Nancy just recently came in. They are both still a little shy, but Catherine and me are planning a roomie talk for tonight to talk about expectations, school and room rules and to get to know them a little better. Till then we’ll be all around campus, meeting all the new people and also working a bit on our homework that teachers gave to us to do during orientation week. Tonight we will enjoy the special dinner in the canteen and then we will surprise the firstyears with our welcoming show! I am so excited about this, I am sure it will be awesome!

Leave a Reply

