My Life at Li Po Chun United World College of Hong Kong 2011-2013

The Countdown Starts Again

Now I’m even more excited – if that’s even possible. My block ‘mom’ Hayley recently sent out an email with the room allocations for next year. I am very happy to announce that [still in the risk of change due to last-minute-amendments] I will most probably live in a big room next year, together with my roomie Catherine (HK)! I actually ran to the kitchen to tell my parents the great news. The girls floor of Block 3 will have only one room with four Secondyears in it, all other rooms consist of two First- and two Secondyears. Catherine and me will share a room with two Firstyears, which we are very excited about. We already planned a lot of things to show and do with them in Hongkong, so hopefully the new Firstyears will feel as comfortable with us, as we did with our Secondyear roomies!

Rooms for Secondyears are allocated systematically, and there are a lot of factors that influence the results: the room last year (e.g. if it was next to the bathroom or opposite the fire doors, if it was big or small, if it was on the girls or boys corridor, the view from the window etc.), the roomie relationships (preferably HK/overseas mix), the state we left our room in on the last day, etc. etc.

Now the only thing left to do is to fly all the way to Hong Kong, travel to campus and receive my new keys. There is not much time left – and some of my co-years are back on campus already, as I just read on Facebook. I will enjoy my last hours in Germany with my family, and then I’ll be off once again. Goodbye Germany! The countdown starts.

Leave a Reply

